An elderly lady places her hand on her husband's shoulder.


The Rheumatology Research Foundation is led by a wide range of rheumatology community members from private practice, clinical rheumatologists to rheumatology researchers and health professionals, as well as corporate representatives and public members dedicated to the Foundation’s mission.

Board of Directors  

S. Louis Bridges Jr., MD, PhD

V. Michael Holers, MD
S. Louis Bridges, Jr., MD, PhD

Hospital for Special Surgery

V. Michael Holers, MD
Vice President

University of Colorado

Dr. Kenneth Saag

Kenneth Saag, MD, MSc

The University of Alabama at Birmingham

Doug White, MD, PhD

Gundersen Lutheran - Onalaska Clinic

   Vikas Majithia, MD
Bryce Binstadt, MD, PhD
Chair, Scientific Advisory Council

University of Minnesota

Vikas Majithia, MD, MPH
Chair, Development Advisory Council 

University of Mississippi Medical Center

Erin Arnold, MD Mara Becker, MD
Erin Arnold, MD

Orthopedics and Rheumatology of the N. Shore

Mara Becker, MD

Duke University

Kevin Deane, MD Jon Giles, MD
Kevin Deane, MD

University of Colorado

Jon Giles, MD, MPH

Columbia University

Beverly Guin Jody Hargrove, MD
Beverly Guin

Jody Hargrove, MD

Arthritis & Rheumatology Consultants, P.A.

Beth Jonas, MD Anne-Marie Malfait, MD, PhD
Beth Jonas, MD
ACR Training Representative

University of North Carolina Chapel Hill

Anne-Marie Malfait, MD, PhD
ACR Research Representative

Rush University Medical Center 

Betsy McKelvey  Steve Russell, MBA
Elizabeth McKelvey

Steve Russell, MBA

Jeff Stark, MD Dan White, PT, ScD, MSc
Jeff Stark, MD
Representative of the Corporate Roundtable


Daniel White, PT, ScD, MSc
Representative of the Association of Rheumatology Professionals

University of Delaware


Ex-Officio Members

 Ellen Gravallese, MD  David Karp, MD, PhD

Ellen Gravallese, MD
President, American College of Rheumatology

Brigham and Women's Hospital

David Karp, MD, PhD
President-Elect, American College of Rheumatology

UT Southwestern Medical Center

 Janet Poole, PhD

 Mary Wheatley, IOM, CAE

Janet Poole, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA
President, Association of Rheumatology Professionals

University of New Mexico

Mary Wheatley, IOM, CAE
Executive Director

Back to top 


The Honorary Board of Advisors is reserved for individuals who have made a transformative contribution, either through monetary support and/or an act of leadership, which made an indelible mark on the Foundation's future fundraising success.

Dr. Cohen, who was essential to including corporations and patients in rheumatology support

Stanley B. Cohen, MD
University of Texas Southwestern

The Malawistas, standing side by side, contributed generously to rheumatology research and training

Stephen E. Malawista, MD and Tobé Malawista
Yale University
(Dr. Malawista was inducted posthumously)

Dr. Weaver, the first president of the Rheumatology Research Foundation

Arthur L. Weaver, MD
University of Nebraska Medical Center


Mary K. Crow, MD
Hospital for Special Surgery

Ephraim P. Engleman, MD
University of California, San Francisco
(Inducted Posthumously)

Norman B. Gaylis, MD
Arthritis and Rheumatic Disease Specialties

James R. O'Dell, MD
University of Nebraska Medical Center

Mark Andrejeski
American College of Rheumatology

Audrey M. Nelson, MD
Mayo Clinic

Back to top 

Development Advisory Council

The Development Advisory Council is charged with overseeing the Foundation’s fundraising program to ensure the Foundation is cultivating the stable support needed to fulfill its mission.

Vikas Majithia, MD

University of Mississippi Medical Center

Stuart S. Kassan, MD, MACR
Colorado Arthritis Associates

Alieen L. Pangan, MD

Kamala M. Nola, PharmD, MS
Lipscomb University 

Terry Wegemer, MA and Leo Wegemer, JD, LLM, MBA
Lockheed Martin (Retired)

Back to top

Scientific Advisory Council

The Scientific Advisory Council is charged with overseeing the Foundation’s research and education funding programs to ensure they are run effectively and efficiently and are meeting the needs of the rheumatology community and people with rheumatic diseases.

Bryce Binstadt, MD, PhD

University of Minnesota

Ed Behrens, MD 
Children's Hospital of Philadephia

Jawad Bilal, MBBS
University of Arizona

Leigh Callahan, PhD
University of North Carolina

Liana Fraenkel, MD
Yale University

Beth Jonas, MD
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Patti Katz, PhD
University of California, San Francisco

Vanessa Malcarne, PhD
San Diego State University

Anne-Marie Malfait, MD, PhD
Rush University Medical Center

Alexis Ogdie-Beatty, MD, MSCE
University of Pennsylvania

Eric Ruderman, MD
Northwestern University

Anthony Shum, MD
University of California, San Francisco

Judith Smith, MD, PhD
University of Wisconsin - Madison

Back to top

Peer Reviewers

The peer reviewers are charged with rigorously reviewing all applications for awards and grants to ensure the proposals adhere to specific criteria and are of a high quality.


Kelli Allen, PhD

Eric J. Allenspach, MD, PhD

Felipe Andrade, MD

Christie M. Bartels, MD

Jawad Bilal, MD

Galina S. Bogatkevich, MD, PhD

David Bradley, PhD

Ru Bryan, PhD

Benjamin Chong, MD

Cecilia P. Chung, MD, MPH

Megan A. Cooper, MD, PhD

Joseph E. Craft, MD

Carla M. Cuda, PhD

Melissa A. Cunningham, MD, PhD

Maria Danila, MD, MSc, MSPH

Erika Darrah, PhD

Aileen Davis, PhD

Kevin Deane, MD, PhD

Laura T. Donlin, PhD

Jeffrey B. Driban, PhD

Gerald Eisenberg, MD

Candace Feldman, MD, ScD

Anthony French, MD, PhD

Marian T. Hannan, DSc, MPH

Jody Hargrove, MD

Shaun Jackson, MD, PhD

S. Reza Jafarzadeh, DVM, MPVM, PhD

Tamiko R. Katsumoto, MD

Kristine Kuhn, MD, PhD

Pui Y. Lee, MD, PhD

Yvonne Lee, MD, MMSc

Deborah Lenschow, MD, PhD

Linda Li, PhD, PT

Katherine P. Liao, MD, MPH

Richard F. Loeser, MD


Maria A. Lopez Olivo, MD, MSc, PhD

Elena Losina, PhD

Theresa Lu, MD, PhD

Rebecca Manno, MD

David Markovitz, MD

Mandy J. McGeachy, MD

Siamak Moghadam-Kia, MD, MPH

Ted Mikuls, MD

Jonathan Miner, MD, PhD

Amanda Nelson, MD, MS, RhMSUS

Uyen-Sa D. T. Nguyen, DSc, MPH

Mark Niemer, MD

Julie Paik, MD

Alessandra Pernis, MD

Shawn Rose, MD, PhD

James T. Rosenbaum, MD

Grant Schulert, MD, PhD

Ami A. Shah, MD, MHS

Miriam Shelef, MD, PhD

Gregg Silverman, MD

Jasvinder Singh, MD, MPH

Jeffrey Sparks, MD, MMSc

Matthew Stoll, MD, PhD, MSCS

Jeremy Tilstra, MD, PhD

John Varga, MD

Michael R. Waterfield, MD, PhD

Paul Waytz, MD

Pamela Weiss, MD, MSCE

Yee Ling Wu, PhD

Ed Yelin, PhD

Jared Younger, PhD

Chack-Yung Yu, PhD

Yongdong Zhao, MD, PhD

Julie Zikherman, MD

Share your expertise. Volunteer to serve as a peer reviewer.

Back to top 


Give today and help transform the future for millions of people living with rheumatic disease.